Moscow: Aeroflot the Terrible 2014

  August 5,  2014 Whoever said: “It’s not about getting there, its about the journey” obviously never flew using Aeroflot. They are a bad airline in general and their low prices reflect that. Their work flow is disorderly and their system is flawed on multiple levels. You would think that seeing a huge cluster of people forming a line early even before boarding is permitted, you would notify them about your procedures and that it was fruitless but that was not the case. IMG_0035They had a mess and formed two separate lines for each half of the plane to board so it did not matter whether you lined up first or where you were seated. All their flights I have taken were never punctual and the carry ons were squished like a can of sardines in the below average upper compartments. The pillows offered reek of someone else’s head who has not showered in days. They did however provide free white and red wine as beverages were offered. I had the opportunity to watch cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2, great gatsby, percy jackson. Might I add that airport food is always super inflated in price and overrated in taste.
 IMG_0038
August 6, 2014 My layover destination, Moscow, Russia was a foreign area I was not prepared for. It was cool climate due to the geographic location and because I stayed in the airport for 5 hours, It was not enough time to explore even a sector of the country and I was afraid traveling without a visa would bar me from re-entry into the airport. I had to be transported by bus to another location in the airport. Fortunately, they have a Burger King which provided free wifi and I ordered a whoper for 630 of their currency which equated to almost 20 USD! The electric outlet  required a converter so vlogging was out of the question since I my gear was out of juice. On the next flight I sat next to a man named Ignaci who was very friendly and might meet in Tokushima for Awa Odori. He was helping set up for the event and predicted half a million visitors. He was a mechanical engineer from Barcelona/Catalan who volunteered to be part of the parade with his buddies. On the flight I watched 500 days of summer and stood up from my seat frequently to use the restroom and stretch my legs to prevent DVT.IMG_0039

Leave a comment